Tanja Brandmayr
Nik, the Sleeper


SF Exploitation / Performative Installation
1. Floor/ Continuous (except night hours from 01:00 – 08:00)

A fragmentary perceptual space and body that combines pulsed textual content, diffuse imagery, states of self-forgetfulness, alienating afterglow effects, reduced movement. A connected unconsiousness and observing postglow of mind-mining and self-fracking.

The sleeping body as an organ of thought, a connected consciousness as a network, a sleeping land beneath the waking state, the sleep of the many as an entity: Nik, the Sleeper is a performative installation, a spatial sci-fi exploitation story told in scraps of text. Nik deals with body, consciousness and technology. It engages in historical debris research on electricity, for example, and points to a techno-future as a potentially larger, connective unconscious network. Between algorithmic underground consciousness and self-fracking, however, the installation swallows almost all of its content. A fragmentary perceptual space emerges that combines pulsed textual content, diffuse imagery, states of creativity and self-forgetfulness, elements from regular sleep measurement, alienating afterglow effects, and elements of reduced movement economy.

An associated text on the project/artist appeared in Versorgerin 135:
Postglow Cinema - The Green Ray by Georg Wilbertz.

Tanja Brandmayr (AT) is artist and writer and has been working for many years and in different contexts between text, media, staging and art. Art and context research Quasikunst in cooperation with STWST. Also editor and author for art and culture magazines. Lives in Linz/Austria. https://quasikunst.stwst.at

Tanja Brandmayr
Nik, the Sleeper


SF Exploitation / Performative Installation
1. Stock / Durchgehend (ausgenommen Nachstunden von 01:00 – 08:00)

Ein fragmentarischer Wahrnehmungsraum und -körper, der gepulste Textinhalte, diffuse Bilder, Zustände der Selbstvergessenheit, verfremdende Nachglüheffekte und reduzierte Bewegung kombiniert. Ein verbundenes Unbewusstes und beobachtendes Nachglühen von Mind-Mining und Self-Fracking.

Der schlafende Körper als Denkorgan, ein verbundenes Bewusstsein als Netzwerk, ein Schlaf-Land unter dem Wachzustand, der Schlaf der Vielen als Entity: Nik, the Sleeper ist eine performative Installation, eine in Textresten erzählte räumliche Sci-Fi-Exploitation-Story. Nik beschäftigt sich mit Körper, Bewusstsein und Technologie. Sie betreibt historischen Trümmer-Research zum Beispiel zur Elektrizität, und weist als potentiell größeres, verbindendes Unconscious-Netzwerk in eine Techno-Zukunft. Zwischen algorithmischem Untergrund-Bewusstsein und Selbst-Fracking schluckt die Installation aber beinahe alle ihre Inhalte. Es entsteht ein fragmentarischer Wahrnehmungsraum, der gepulsten Textcontent, diffuse Bilder, Kreativitäts- und Selbstvergessenheits-Zustände, Elemente aus der regulären Schlaf-Messung, verfremdende Nachleucht-Effekte sowie Elemente reduzierter Bewegungsökonomie verbindet.

Ein assoziierter Text zu Projekt/Artist ist in der Versorgerin 135 erschienen:
Postglow Cinema - Das grüne Leuchten von Georg Wilbertz.

Tanja Brandmayr (AT) ist Künstlerin und Autorin und arbeitet seit vielen Jahren und in unterschiedlichen Kontexten zwischen Text, Medien, Inszenierung und Kunst. Kunst- und Kontextforschung Quasikunst in Kooperation mit STWST. Außerdem Redakteurin und Autorin für Kunst- und Kulturmagazine. Lebt in Linz/Österreich. https://quasikunst.stwst.at