Astrid Benzer
Luminophorium, Prototype 1.0


Light Sculpture / Light Installation
1. Floor Foyer / Continuous (except night hours from 01:00 – 08:00)

Twelve light sticks are arranged in a darkened eight-cubic-metre room. They are switched on and off by using control units. Phosphorescent covers connect the light sticks to form a spatial structure. Darkness, light (passive and active), time and the three-dimensionality of space are the main actors of the setting, which is called Luminophorium in its entirety. Luminophores (Latin lumen 'light', Ancient Greek φορός phorós 'load-bearing') are substances that glow in the dark after being irradiated by light.
-
The Luminophorium, an experimental arrangement in the sense of a light imaginarium, is a spatial-sensory experience in which the viewer is thrown completely back on himself. Only by pausing, only by constantly sharpening one's senses, does the experiential space open up.

In the closed cube Locus Lux Ludens, a place for playful experimentation with light, two artistic positions are presented that turn specifically to the phenomenon of phosphorescence/(chemo-)luminescence and explore the state of light, whether “passive” (= illuminated) or “active” (= self-luminous), in different ways. The second work in the cube is entitate luzitransis [№ I+II].

An associated text on the project/artist appeared in Versorgerin 135:
Postglow Cinema - The Green Ray by Georg Wilbertz.

Astrid Benzer (AT) born 1972 in Wels. Studied Visual Media Design and Experimental Visual Design at the University of Artistic and Industrial Design in Linz. Lives and works in Marchtrenk and Linz in the crossover jungle of art & graphics. http://astridbenzer.com

Astrid Benzer
Luminophorium, Prototyp 1.0


Lichtskulptur / Lichtinstallation
1. Stock Foyer / Durchgehend (ausgenommen Nachstunden von 01:00 – 08:00)

In einem abgedunkelten Acht-Kubikmeter-Raum werden mittels Schaltsteuerung zwölf im Raum verteilte Leuchtstäbe in einen On- /Off-Modus versetzt. Phosphoreszierende Hüllen verbinden die Leuchtstäbe zu einem räumlichen Gebilde. Dunkelheit, Licht (passiv und aktiv), Zeit und die Dreidimensionalität des Raums sind die Hauptakteure des Settings, das sich in seiner Gesamtheit Luminophorium nennt. Als Luminophore (lateinisch lumen ‚Licht‘, altgriechisch φορός phorós ‚tragend‘) werden Substanzen bezeichnet, die nach der Bestrahlung durch Licht im Dunkeln leuchten.
-
Das Luminophorium, eine Versuchanordnung im Sinne eines Licht-Imaginariums, ist eine räumlich-sinnliche Erfahrung, in der der Betrachter ganz auf sich selbst zurückgeworfen wird. Erst im Innehalten, erst durch das stetige Schärfen der Sinne eröffnet sich einem der Erfahrungsraum desselbigen.

Im abgeschlossenen Kubus und gemeinsamen Erfahrungsraum Locus Lux Ludens, als Ort des spielerischen Experimentierens mit Licht präsentieren sich zwei künstlerische Positionen, die sich dem Phänomen der Phosphoreszenz bzw. (Chemo-)Lumineszenz zuwenden und den Zustand von Licht, ob „passiv“ (= beleuchtet) oder „aktiv“ (= selbst leuchtend), auf unterschiedliche Weise erforschen. Die zweite Arbeit, die in diesem Kubus präsentiert wird, ist entitate luzitransis [№ I+II].

Ein assoziierter Text zu Projekt/Artist ist in der Versorgerin 135 erschienen:
Postglow Cinema - Das grüne Leuchten von Georg Wilbertz.

Astrid Benzer (AT) geboren 1972 in Wels. Studierte Visuelle Mediengestaltung und Experimentelle Visuelle Gestaltung an der Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung in Linz. Lebt und arbeitet in Marchtrenk und Linz im Crossover-Dschungel von Kunst & Grafik. http://astridbenzer.com